top of page

Constructing a Positive Identity




It's tempting to go after low hanging fruit as we develop our identity and construct a sense of who we are. For example, it's easy to identify what people, ideas and perspectives we don't like. That's the low hanging fruit. In our technologically saturated and polarized environment we are reminded constantly of our annoyances and disagreements. No wonder we often build our sense of identity from this negative place. We construct a sense of value that's built upon what we don't like or don't believe.


This approach of identify formation is tempting for several reasons. I'll mention two:

  • It's easy. With smartphone in hand it's not hard to find ideological, theological or philosophical enemies. Just open your twitter feed or turn on your go-to cable news network. It only takes a few seconds of scrolling to find ourselves irritated at a person or idea.

  • We get a buzz. When we construct our identity from a negative place (identifying an enemy and defining ourselves in contrast to that enemy) we will likely run back to relationships and social media feeds that affirm us. Our "rightness" is attested which feels really, really good. In fact, dopamine is released in the brain offering an addictive and pleasure-filled experience. If I'm honest, the easiest way for me to feel right is to identify someone with a very different perspective and then methodically explain why they are wrong. Yet, that person is rarely there to do justice to their perspective. What's worse, the person or group of people identified is usually found on the extreme of the "other side". Rarely do we pick the person with a thoughtful and nuanced middle position. We don't get the same dopamine rush of feeling right.

Let me flesh out this abstract conversation with a practical example.


I've noticed that white evangelicalism often needs an enemy to keep their identity in tact. At it's worst it's an enemy making machine. The list of ideological, social or theological boogie men is long: progressives, liberals, Catholics, mainline churches, experts, scientists, democrats, social justice warriors, evolution, critical race theory, Rob Bell, Peter Enns, etc. As long as an enemy is identified white evangelicals get the buzz of being right and have the energy and shared identity to rally around a cause.


As I point out the speck in white evangelicalism's eye I must look at the log in my own.


If I'm honest, I've already identified the "boogie man" I have the tendency to focus on: closed-minded, dogmatic white evangelical Christians with a bent towards individualism, nationalism and judgmentalism. If I'm not careful I form my identity in reaction against the concerns and blind spots of this demographic.


Side note: not every white evangelical fits the adjectives that I have used! There are many who have committed themselves more thoughtfully to the evangelical framework as understood via David Bevington's quadrilateral of crucicentrism, biblicism, conversionism and activism. I know many of them. However, much of the movement has been captivated by other social-political categories that are add-ons and distractions from a Jesus-centered faith.


Are there aspects of this form of white evangelicalism that need to be prophetically critiqued for the sake of gospel? Absolutely. Should my identity to formed in reaction to this? Absolutely not.


This is the difference between building a positive identity v. a negative one. As I answer the all important identity question (who am I?), the answer ought to be developed around what God says about me. I'm created by God. I am loved. I am a child of God. God has given me a meaningful vocation in the world to embody the Kingdom of God. I am not on an island but deeply embedded in community, etc. Concepts like these come together to construct my sense of who I am. Notice I don't need any enemies or opponents on the other side of a culture war in this process of positive identity formation.


This way of constructing identity isn't as easy. And I don't get the same quick buzz of "rightness" every time I log in. Yet, it's far more joy-filled and and resilient. Additionally, I experience freedom because even if it turns out I'm wrong, or the boogie man wasn't as bad as my straw-man argument led me to believe, I haven't lost who I am.


Instead of entering into contentious and divisive conversations with a desire to add to my narrative of "rightness", I can engage others with a genuine curiosity without fear that my sense of identity is threatened.


I haven't arrived. I still struggle at times to construct my sense of who I am and where I'm going from a more positive place. But I want to get better.


I love this quote: "If you are outraged at everything, everything is not the problem". When our identity is formed by distinguishing ourselves against people and perspectives we don't like we may find ourselves angry at everything to keep our identity in tact. The longer our list of enemies the more important and right we feel. The next couple of months are sure to be tension filled given our current socio-political climate. No doubt we will encounter ideas that frustrate and concern us. Yet, we have a choice in how we respond.


Without a positive identity constructed by the story of Jesus I can enter the public square like a bachelorette contestant...desperate to distinguish myself from others I feel in competition with and driven by insecurity to win the affections of those I want to impress.


What a miserable way to live.


I desire to enter relationships without a need to feel right in order to have value and worth. I'm grateful for the positive and resilient identity given to me as a follow of Jesus. It's one of the many gifts of the gospel. May I live as if it's true!



Comments


IMG_20190629_154409278_edited_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for being interested in engaging my ideas. I'll post when I have an idea worth sharing and the time to put it in writing. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page